Whoa

Well it’s been approximately a month since I had internet access (hello, unanswered email and facebook message overload) and about 7 weeks since I had a proper day off, but that time kind of flew by.  I’ve been SUPER busy with the volunteers for the last month or so, and they all just went home today.  It’s very sad to see them go and things are going to be extraordinarily quiet around camp now that they’re gone, but I think they all had an amazing time and are heading home with really great pictures and stories to share.  Here’s a snapshot of the things we’ve been up to over the past month:

  • Ant, tree, and ground flora surveys at the Mega-Rice project site
  • Preparing for kelasi surveys in the MRP starting this month
  • Finishing up all three of the volunteer student projects
  • Celebrating Idul Fitri with our field assistants and their families
  • Mini-holiday in Tanjung Puting National Park

…And those are just the big things.  I’ll write more about some of those events in later posts; tonight and tomorrow are just set aside for relaxing and catching up on my life outside of Borneo so I should have a bit of time to devote to blogs about Idul Fitri and Tanjung Puting.  In the meantime, I’m off to take a mandi (shower) and spend the rest of the night watching a movie or something.  Of the last 24 hours, I have spent 9 on the bus back from Tanjung, 4 asleep, 5 helping the vols pack (saddddd) and seeing them off at the airport, 2 at an Indonesian wedding, and 4 or so sifting through the pile of emails I came back to.  Yikes. Night off, yes please! More tomorrow….

One thought on “Whoa

  1. What a busy time! Sounds like you ned more than 4 hours of sleep — just to recover from the 9 hours on the bus!
    I now. I’m contributing to the Facebook overload. But it’s a welcome overload, I hope!
    Dad

Leave a Reply

