Selamat Hari Natal dan Tahun Baru!

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year, everyone!

It’s been a rushed past few days full of staff meetings, data entry and other tasks before I go on vacation.  Most people left yesterday, so it’s been very quiet in our house in town, and I’m off tomorrow early in the morning on a bus to Banjarmasin in South Borneo.  I’ll be there until the 29th, spending Christmas with two of our camp cooks who have graciously invited me to their village. On the 29th I fly to Lombok to travel about for 10 days… I have no idea where I’ll be for the new year, but I’m sure it’ll be fun!  My only solid plan is to stay at a very small resort (http://madak-belo.com/) for 3 days at the end of my trip, then fly back here on the 7th.

It’ll be weird spending Christmas in some place other than good old Minnesota, but I think the beaches and snorkeling will make up for the fact that I’m missing a nice big blizzard.  They won’t, however, make up for the fact that I won’t be there for the annual Freund-Knell Pictionary game, endless family photos where we can’t seem to get the timer or camera position just right, hilarious quotes from questionably sober parents and children alike, and the traditional Christmas Eve stuffing your face with 800 cookies.  Unfortunately part of working in the field (the sucky part) means that I’m far away and miss out on important things like holiday celebrations. I guess all jobs have their pros and cons, right?

I’m not taking my computer with me, so I can’t promise any new blog posts, but if I make a rainy day visit to an internet cafe I’ll try to post some vacation photos. Until then, here are some highly entertaining Christmas 2011 photos. Sampai nanti, everyone!

Freund-Knell Christmas 2011

Freund-Knell Christmas 2011

Mark and I in our Christmas hats

Mark and I in our Christmas hats

Christmas Eve family photo!

Christmas Eve family photo!

(We don’t do serious photos well, do we?)

Leave a Reply

