Life Update: February

Well, not much to report here, to be honest.  It’s been a quiet, albeit rainy, month.  We had a massive storm last week and the forest has completely changed; there are huge tree falls everywhere!  It’s pretty amazing to see the impact of just one event on forest structure. We can still hear trees falling every now and then from camp a week later.

Big rain at camp (photo by Prof. Fan Pengfei)

Big rain at camp (photo by Prof. Fan Pengfei)

Forest work overall has also been a bit slow, we haven’t been able to start on the new microtopography project yet because the guys were busy with back-to-back nest and phenology surveys.  The first week of March is set for some big data collection though, which is exciting and it will be nice to finally get the field work started for that.  Hmm, what else? I’ve been keeping my eye out for jobs post-May as usual, which as anyone who’s recently tried to find a job in conservation knows, is a rather depressing exercise.  Most jobs are either volunteer (or even worse, they want YOU to pay) or they pay virtually nothing for mind-numbing work in the middle of nowhere, South Dakota or some equally bleak place.  Oh yeah, and add to this the fact that jobs where the education requirement is just a B.S. may eventually be filled by a Ph.D. because NO ONE can find work, and you can understand why looking for a job in conservation/ecology can be a bit frustrating. I was lucky enough to find an ad for a job at CIFOR the other day, which I found at 9:30 pm the day it was due and sent in the application 1 hour later.  Better late than never, right? Fingers crossed, it would be a really awesome job!  By the way, if anyone with connections is reading this: Early career scientist looking for paying research and field work. M.A. in Conservation Biology. I speak Indonesian. Contact me! 🙂

Anyway, sorry it’s been so long since I’ve updated this, and that this post is rather boring, but hopefully I’ll have something more exciting to write about soon.  In the meantime, I hope all of you in the U.S. are staying nice and warm amidst the big snow!  Oh, and check out my “Hello Monday” profile on the OuTrop blog, thanks!

http://outrop.blogspot.com/2013/02/ms-cassie-freund-says-hello-monday-9.html

4 thoughts on “Life Update: February

  1. Hey Cassie!
    1) Yes i totally read your blog because it’s awesome!
    2) One of my best friends and coworkers from Oregon who I worked with a few years ago is doing her Masters at South Dakota State and is hiring a field technician which she just posted to all the Biology job sites, haha. So I know for a fact it would actually be a really cool job and with a really cool boss! But I agree 🙂 I didn’t want to live there either, I don’t know how she does it. Anyway, I just thought that was funny. Back in the states, at least, the conbio world is a teeny tiny world. Oh and totally a depressing exercise and sometimes I wish I got of the country for longer. Best of lucks!! Enjoy your last few months there!

    • Hey girl heyyy! Long time no talk, I’ve been stalking your statuses and stuff too 🙂 Haha that’s funny about SD State, it would indeed be fun if there were great people, but the work itself is not appealing to me unfortunately. Strange coincidence, though. I have been seeing a couple of jobs in Costa Rica on the websites, if you’re thinking about skipping the country again… let me know and i can send them to you! Thanks dude, glad to see you’re enjoying your time out in OR as well!

      • Oh don’t get me wrong, I Loooooooooove Oregon and I want to keep working here, but the majority of jobs are through federal government agencies, and well, there are clearly problems there. woohoo!

Leave a Reply

