Back from Boston

Well, I’m officially all trained in! Just joking, I know I have a lot more to learn to prepare for my new position, but it was a great week in Boston. Being able to work one-on-one with Cheryl Knott, Executive Director of GPOCP/my new boss/orangutan researcher extraordinaire, was a great experience and I feel much more solid in my responsibilities. I have my work cut out for me, as there are a lot of things that I can do to help advance GPOCP’s mission and impact, but I know it’s going to be a great job. In just 12 days I will be there in Ketapang, meeting all of the staff and getting things rolling!

Image

Cheryl and I at her house

If you’re reading this and you haven’t already, check out our website, like Gunung Palung Orangutan Project on Facebook, and follow @GPOrangutans on Twitter. I’ll be posting news and updates about orangutan conservation on all of those media as well my own personal experiences here on this blog, so thanks in advance for those of you that support me and the organization.

ANYWAY in other news, yesterday when I got back to Minneapolis I went to REI because I wanted to buy a new backpack- my old one has a hole that a mouse chewed in it last year at camp. About an hour later I emerged with no backpack (couldn’t find one I liked) but a new zip-up, pair of pants (trousers, for my British friends), and hiking shoes. Luckily I needed most of what I bought, and it was all on sale, but let me say that it was still not a cheap visit. Check out my cool new shoes, though! I’m pretty excited about those and hopefully I’ll get a chance to put them to good use.

Image

They’re purple! Not super heavy-duty but sturdy enough for long hikes.

Time is going to go quickly now, I’m leaving on June 17th and have a lot of things to do this week. My flights are all booked now and I’m pretty prepared, but there are always last-minute things that come up so I’m anticipating a crazy week. Stay tuned for the excitement!

 

One thought on “Back from Boston

Leave a Reply

