5 airports later..

Greetings from West Kalimantan!

I just got here yesterday and have already been pretty busy, which I will write a separate post about later, this post is about the long trip from Minneapolis to Indonesia. I hit 5 airports in 2 days, which sounds pretty tiring but actually the trip was fairly easy. The longest part was probably the layover in Qatar- there wasn’t much to do there, although there was free internet, so I was able to catch up on emails. They also had tons of places to plug in electronics- both of these things (free WiFi and plugs) are things American airports are bad at but huge international airports do pretty well. It definitely makes long trips easier when you don’t have to worry about showing up on the other side with a dead computer, dead phone and no way to contact people if you need to.

One of the ways I entertained myself in Qatar was just by walking around! The country as a whole is pretty wealthy and this was definitely reflected in the shops and the airport itself. There were really fancy cars everywhere inside the airport, and you could kill some time shopping at Burberry and Swarovski! There was also a giant yellow statue in the middle of the airport, I have no idea what it was for but it looked funny so I took a picture. Here’s a little collage I made to pass the time:

Image

Although it wasn’t my longest flight of the trip, the flight from Qatar to Jakarta seemed to take the longest. I had already exhausted the TV show/movie options that I wanted to watch and I wasn’t very sleepy, so when I looked at the map and saw there were still 7 hours to Jakarta it was a little depressing! But, after some plane food I was ready for a nap and so the last several hours passed a little more quickly than I thought they would. Then it was a brief overnight in Jakarta, thanking the travel gods that my luggage didn’t get lost along the way, and back to the airport for my domestic flight (see picture below). I think I’ll end this there, I have some more photos to post and stories to tell but I need to get the internet situation around here figured out and go buy some breakfast! Sampai nanti (see you later), everyone.

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

